Discharging Firearm Within 500 Feet of a Building

Discharging Firearm Within 500 Feet of a BuildingUnder Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 269 section 12E it is a crime for a person to discharge a firearm, rifle, or shotgun within 500 feet of a dwelling or building in use without the consent of the owner or legal occupant. Live ammunition isn’t required as firing blank rounds from a starter pistol at a neighbor’s house is considered discharging a firearm under the law.

The reason behind the law prohibiting the discharge of a firearm within 500 feet of a dwelling or building in use is to protect the potential occupants of active buildings all day and night and not simply during formal business hours.

Anyone found guilty of this offense will be punished by a fine between $50 and $100 or imprisonment in a jail of house of correction for not more than 3 months, or both.

There are several exceptions for certain persons and situations. They are as follows:

  1. discharging a firearm in lawful defense of life and property;
  2. any law enforcement officer discharging his or her firearm while in the line of duty;
  3. discharging a firearm while using an underground or indoor target or test range with the consent of the owner or legal occupant;
  4. discharging of a firearm by persons using outdoor skeet, trap, target or test ranges with the consent of the owner or legal occupant of the land on which the range is established;
  5. discharging a firearm in licensed shooting galleries; and
  6. discharging blank cartridges for theatrical, athletic, ceremonial, firing squad, or licensed fireworks displays.

The defendant will be charged with this offense even if they did not know that they were discharging their firearm within 500 feet of a dwelling. Ignorance is not a defense. The 500 foot requirement is to be measured in a straight line from the location of the observed discharge to the nearest location of the building’s structure. The burden is on the prosecution to prove, beyond a reasonable doubt, that the firearm was discharged with 500 feet of the dwelling or building. This can be hard to prove and hiring a firearms defense attorney that is capable of holding the prosecution to that burden of proof is the first step to defeating these charges.

Charged With A Weapons Offense? Let Our Experienced Brockton Defense Attorneys Can Help You.

No matter where you are located, we are just a phone call away. Call us to schedule a free no-obligation case review and consultation at (508) 584-6955 and you will have taken your first step to find out how best to confront this important matter. You can also click here to use our Free Case Evaluation Form.

Boston Criminal Defense Attorneys Expungement and Criminal Record Sealing

Our Reputation Speaks for Itself – View Our Case Results


Our compassionate and experienced criminal defense attorneys are experienced trial lawyers who aggressively represent those accused of firearm offenses, DUI/OUI other driving offenses, felony crimes, juvenile crimes, and misdemeanor charges in Massachusetts courts. Our law firm is available to assist clients throughout all of Southeast Massachusetts, including but not limited to: Plymouth County including Brockton, Plymouth, Bridgewater, Hingham, Wareham, Middleboro; Norfolk County including Quincy, Stoughton, Dedham, Weymouth, Braintree, Randolph, Canton, Sharon, Brookline, Franklin; Bristol County including New Bedford, Fall River, Taunton, Wrentham, Attleboro, Mansfield, Easton, Raynham; and Middlesex County including Cambridge, Lowell, Somerville, Newton, Woburn, Framingham, Malden, Chelsea, Everett, Arlington, Medford and Waltham; Cape Cod, Barnstable, Hyannis, Falmouth and Springfield, Holyoke, Chicopee & Worcester; Essex County including Lynn, Lawrence, Peabody, Haverhill, and Salem; and the Greater Boston area including South Boston, Revere, Dorchester, Brighton and Roxbury.

Related posts:

Receiving a Firearm with Defaced or Altered Serial Number
A conviction for defacing a firearm’s serial number results in minimum sentence of 1 month but no more than 2 ½ years in the house of corrections...
Unlawful Possession of a Firearm
Often times the passenger in a car will be charged with possession of a firearm even though they didn’t own the firearm and weren’t holding it. I...
Possession of a Large Capacity Firearm
The unlawful possession of a large capacity firearm is a crime governed by M.G.L 269 section 10 (m). A conviction for unlawfully carrying of a la...
Illegal Transportation of Loaded Firearm in a Vehicle
Criminal Penalties For Illegal Transportation of Loaded Firearm in a Vehicle Under Massachusetts Law. Penalties vary for Class A, Class B and lar...
Application to Renew License to Carry Firearm (LTC) Denied
Firearm licenses are valid for 6 years. You must submit a request with your local police department for a renewal prior to the expiration date of...
License to Carry Firearm (LTC) Revoked/Suspended
It is very difficult to overturn a police chief's decision to suspend or revoke a license to carry a firearm. A police chief has broad discretion...
Carrying a Firearm While Intoxicated In Massachusetts
The law only applies to LOADED FIREARMS and applies to police and state officials and anyone licensed to carry a weapon. When prosecuting someone...
Firearm Offenses in Motor Vehicles
Compared to the rest of the country, Massachusetts has strict gun-control laws. There are several firearm offenses dealing with illegal possessio...