Penalties For Domestic Assault and Battery
Penalties for Conviction on Domestic Assault and Battery Charges in Norfolk County, Massachusetts
Depending on the facts of an arrest, domestic assault and battery in Massachusetts can be charged as simple assault and battery, assault and battery, aggravated assault and battery or assault and battery by means of a dangerous weapon. There is a huge difference between these four charges.
Simple assault and battery and assault and battery are misdemeanor crimes in Massachusetts. Aggravated assault and battery and assault and battery with a dangerous weapon on the other hand are felony offenses.
A conviction for assault and battery by a dangerous weapon can result in punishment by imprisonment in the state prison for up to 10 years or imprisonment in the house of correction for up to 2.5 years. Because this offense is a felony the district attorney’s office can indict the defendant in an effort to get the case moved to superior court where penalties for a conviction are increased to the stated 10 year sentence in state prison.
Certified Batter’s Program
Often times a defendant that is found guilty of domestic assault and battery gets probation. Usually, as a condition of that probation, the defendant will have to enter The Certified Batter’s Program. The defendant will have to pay to be in the program. The cost can be upwards of $3,500 in some cases. The program takes over 40 weeks to complete and comprises of 80 hours of sessions. Each session usually runs for 2 hours.
Instead of the certified batter’s program courts may order the defendant to go to anger management. The anger management program is not as intensive as the batter’s program and last only 14 weeks.
Serious & Aggressive Defense Against Domestic Violence Crimes
Although you may have been accused and charged with a crime, you are presumed innocent by the court. An experienced and knowledgeable Massachusetts Criminal Attorney will investigate your case and diligently develop your defense strategy from the initial arrest to the ultimate disposition of your case.
If you or someone you love is under investigation for a violent crime or has already been charged, you should speak with The immediately. Even if you are only under investigation and have not yet been formally charged, you should contact an experienced criminal defense attorney who can help protect you from damaging your case.
Dedham MA Domestic Violence Charges Criminal Defense Attorneys – Initial Consultations Are Always Free
Our knowledgeable and experienced Dedham Domestic Violence Criminal Lawyers at The Law Offices of Gerald J. Noonan are available to assist clients throughout all of Massachusetts, including but not limited to Plymouth County including Brockton, Plymouth, Bridgewater, Hingham, Wareham, Middleboro; Norfolk County including Quincy, Stoughton, Dedham, Weymouth, Braintree, Randolph, Canton, Sharon, Brookline, Franklin; Bristol County including New Bedford, Fall River, Taunton, Wrentham, Attleboro, Mansfield, Easton, Raynham; and Middlesex County including Cambridge, Lowell, Somerville, Newton, Woburn, Framingham, Malden, Chelsea, Everett, Arlington, Medford and Waltham; Cape Cod, Barnstable, Falmouth and Worcester; Essex County including Lynn, Lawrence and Salem; and the Greater Boston area including South Boston, Revere, Dorchester and Roxbury.
No matter where you are located, we are just a phone call away. Call our Norfolk County Criminal Defense Attorneys Criminal Lawyers to schedule a free no-obligation case review and consultation at (508) 588-0422 and you will have taken your first step to find out how best to confront this important matter. You can also click here to use our Free Case Evaluation Form.