Massachusetts Drivers License Suspension and Surcharges

Taunton Motor Vehicle Offense Attorney

Driving on suspended license defense attorneys in Brockton.The Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles will suspend someone’s driver’s license for a variety of reasons. The following are only a few reasons:

  • Five Surcharges: A driver that has 5 civil vehicle citations or 5 surcharges within a three year period will have to undergo traffic school or they will face a license suspension. Surcharges are accessed when a motorist is involved in an accident where they are more than 50 percent at fault and also when they are written a citation.
  • 7 Surcharges: 7 surcharges within a three year span will result in a suspended license for 60 days. The driver has no recourse for this suspension.
  • 12 Surcharges and the Habitual Traffic Offender: 12 surchargable events within 5 years will classify the driver as a habitual offender and will result in a loss of license for 4 years.
  • Criminal Vehicle Offenses: Anyone who has 3 criminal vehicle offenses will be deemed a habitual offender and will lose their driver’s license for 4 years. The following are some examples of criminal motor vehicle offense: OUI conviction, refusing to take the breath test, leaving the scene of personal injury or property damage, negligent operation, driving on a suspended or revoked license, failure to stop when instructed by police.

Every license revocation and suspension is different from any other and each case has its own set of unique circumstances. If your license has been suspended or revoked because of too many moving vehicle citations you should call an experienced drivers license suspension attorney.  Our lawyers are available to meet and speak with you 7 days a week. Give us a call today to schedule a free consultation.

Charged with Driving On A Suspended License?  Talk With An Experienced Taunton Motor Vehicle Offense Attorney For Free

Regardless of why your driver license was initially suspended, if you are caught driving without a valid license you are facing the possibility of criminal charges that could have a lasting impact on your driving privileges, be subject to stiff fines, and even be facing jail time.  Our lawyers will aggressively seek to get you the best possible outcome and fight any charges levied against you.

No matter where you are located, we are just a phone call away. Call us to schedule a free no-obligation case review and consultation at (508) 584-6955 and you will have taken your first step to find out how best to confront this important matter. You can also click here to use our Free Case Evaluation Form.

Our experienced Massachusetts driving offense criminal defense attorneys are available to assist clients facing charges of driving on a suspended driver’s license throughout all of Massachusetts, including but not limited to Plymouth County including Brockton, Plymouth, Bridgewater, Hingham, Wareham, Middleboro; Norfolk County including Quincy, Stoughton, Dedham, Weymouth, Braintree, Randolph, Canton, Sharon, Brookline, Franklin; Bristol County including New Bedford, Fall River, Taunton, Wrentham, Attleboro, Mansfield, Easton, Raynham; and Middlesex County including Cambridge, Lowell, Somerville, Newton, Woburn, Framingham, Malden, Chelsea, Everett, Arlington, Medford and Waltham; Cape Cod, Barnstable, Falmouth and Worcester; Essex County including Lynn, Lawrence and Salem; and the Greater Boston area including South Boston, Revere, Dorchester and Roxbury.

Related posts:

Leaving the Scene of an Accident Involving a Personal Injury or Death
It is a crime to knowingly collide with another car or a person causing personal injury or death and then leave the scene without giving your nam...
Operating a Motor Vehicle on a Suspended or Revoked License
Operating a motor vehicle on a suspended or revoke license is a common offense and the penalties are rather broad consisting of fines, license li...
Operating a Motor Vehicle Without a License
If you have been written a ticket for driving without a license you might think that the easiest way to handle the situation is to just admit to ...
Joyriding - Use of a Vehicle Without Authority
The passengers in a vehicle taken without the owner's knowledge or permission, as well as the driver, can be charged with Use Without Authorizati...
Leaving the Scene of an Accident Involving Property Damage
It is a crime to knowingly collide with another car or another’s personal property and then leave the scene without giving your name, residence a...
Ignition Interlock Device Violation / Rolling Re-Test Violations
An ignition interlock violation committed by someone with a hardship license will result in a revoked hardship license for the balance of the rem...
OUI and Negligent Operation
Negligent operation of a motor vehicle is different than operating under the influence. However, it is common for a defendant to be charged with ...
Habitual Traffic Offender Suspension
Anyone that is classified as a habitual traffic offender by the registry of motor vehicles will have their license suspended for four years. Her...