Operating a Motor Vehicle After License Has Been Suspended for OUI Related Offenses
Brockton Motor Vehicle Offense Defense Attorneys
Operating a motor vehicle after a license has been suspended or revoked because of an OUI/DUI conviction or a failed breath test (.08 or above for adults over age 21 or .02 or above for operators under age 21) carries serious penalties.
After the alcohol-related suspension/revocation has expired the operator has to take steps to get his or her license reinstated. However, an operating on a suspended license charge that occurs after the time period imposed for an alcohol related suspension but before the driver has had his or her license reinstated will not result in a conviction for operating after a license suspension/revocation for an OUI/DUI conviction or related offense.
Criminal Penalties For Driving On License Suspended For OUI/DUI Conviction
The penalties for driving on a suspended or revoked license after an OUI/DUI conviction or related offense are governed by Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90 section 23. There are mandatory minimum penalties for this violation consisting of a fine of at least $1,000 but not more than $10,000 and a minimum jail sentence in the house of corrections for at least 60 days and up to 2 ½ years.
Registry Penalties Penalties For Driving On License Suspended For OUI/DUI Conviction
The Massachusetts Registry will suspend the drivers license, up to one year, of any operator convicted of driving on a suspended or revoked license after OUI/DUI conviction or related offense.
OUI After License Was Suspended For An OUI Conviction
Penalties for operating under the influence after a license was suspended or revoked for operating under the influence where added by Melanie’s Law which was enacted in 2005. Massachusetts General Law Chapter 23 section 3 imposed serious criminal penalties for this offense.
Criminal Penalties For OUI After License Was Suspended For An OUI Conviction
The mandatory minimum penalty for this violation is a minimum fine of $2,500 but not more than $10,000 and imprisonment in the house of corrections for a minimum of 1 year but not more than 2-1/2 years.
Registry Penalties For OUI After License Was Suspended For An OUI Conviction
The Massachusetts Registry will suspend the drivers license, up to one year, of any operator convicted of driving on a suspended or revoked license for an OUI/DUI conviction or related offense.
Charged with Operating a Motor Vehicle After License Has Been Suspected for OUI Related Offenses? Talk to An Experienced Attorney For Free
If you have been charged with any violating involving a motor vehicle we can help. Driving without a valid license can result in stiff fines, further loss of driving privileges, and even jail time. Our attorneys are experienced — and aggressive and will fight hard to get you the most favorable outcome possible.
No matter where you are located, we are just a phone call away. Call us to schedule a free no-obligation case review and consultation at (508) 584-6955 and you will have taken your first step to find out how best to confront this important matter. You can also click here to use our Free Case Evaluation Form.
Our knowledgeable and experienced Massachusetts OUI/DUI driving offenses attorneys are available to assist clients throughout all of Massachusetts, including but not limited to Plymouth County including Brockton, Plymouth, Bridgewater, Hingham, Wareham, Middleboro; Norfolk County including Quincy, Stoughton, Dedham, Weymouth, Braintree, Randolph, Canton, Sharon, Brookline, Franklin; Bristol County including New Bedford, Fall River, Taunton, Wrentham, Attleboro, Mansfield, Easton, Raynham; and Middlesex County including Cambridge, Lowell, Somerville, Newton, Woburn, Framingham, Malden, Chelsea, Everett, Arlington, Medford and Waltham; Cape Cod, Barnstable, Falmouth and Worcester; Essex County including Lynn, Lawrence and Salem; and the Greater Boston area including South Boston, Revere, Dorchester and Roxbury.
It is a crime to knowingly collide with another car or a person causing personal injury or death and then leave the scene without giving your nam...
Operating a motor vehicle on a suspended or revoke license is a common offense and the penalties are rather broad consisting of fines, license li...
If you have been written a ticket for driving without a license you might think that the easiest way to handle the situation is to just admit to ...
In Massachusetts it is a crime to operate a motor vehicle recklessly or negligently so that the lives or safety of the public might be endangered...
It is a crime to knowingly collide with another car or another’s personal property and then leave the scene without giving your name, residence a...
Every license revocation and suspension is different from any other and each case has its own set of unique circumstances. If your license has be...
An ignition interlock violation committed by someone with a hardship license will result in a revoked hardship license for the balance of the rem...
Negligent operation of a motor vehicle is different than operating under the influence. However, it is common for a defendant to be charged with ...