Operating Under the Influence – First Offense OUI

Massachusetts has some of toughest penalties when it comes to drunk driving. You should have a tough lawyer.

Keys and liquor

If you were arrested for an Operating Under the Influence/Driving Under the Influence (OUI/DUI) offense, you are facing two different cases against you. The first is a case that involves the status of your drivers license in Massachusetts and the other involves the criminal case and criminal penalties if found guilty.

Massachusetts has some of toughest penalties when it comes to drunk driving. The most important decision you can make following an OUI arrest is hiring an experienced lawyer. Click on the following link to review some of our drunk driving case results.

What Are The Penalties for First time OUI Offenders?

Anyone conviction of a first-time OUI offense faces the following penalties, fines and suspensions.

  • A fine of at least $500 but not more than $5,000 or imprisonment in a house of corrections for no more than 2.5 years. First time offenders rarely face jail time;
  • A loss of drivers license for 1 year. This is in addition to any suspension that resulted from failing or refusing breath test.

For 1st time convictions under 24DA sentencing includes:

  • probation for to 2 years;
  • driver alcohol education program (usually sixteen weeks, one night per week) as a condition of probation; and
  • loss of license for 45 to 90 and atleast180 days for anyone under the age of 21.

Issues dealing with a loss of drivers license are usually the primary concern with individuals found guilty of a first time drunk driving offense. That is what makes the 24D so appealing as it can reduce the loss of license from 1 year down to 45 days.

First-time offender sentenced to the 24D program are entitled to a hardship license if they can show they are in need of a license. A hardship license allows you to operate a vehicle 7 days a week for the same 12 hour period.

Charged With Your First DUI/DWI Offense? Call our law firm today for experienced legal help.

No matter where you are located, we are just a phone call away. Call our legal team today to schedule a free no-obligation case review and consultation at (508) 584-6955 and you will have taken your first step to find out what your legal options are for a defense against drunk driving charges. You can also click here to use our Free Case Evaluation Form.

Boston Criminal Defense Attorneys Motor Vehicle Violations

 Our law firm is available to assist clients throughout all of Southeast Massachusetts.

Our knowledgeable and experienced Massachusetts DUI attorneys at The Noonan Defense Firm are available to assist clients throughout all of Southeast Massachusetts, including but not limited to Brockton, Taunton, Bridgewater, Weymouth, Quincy, Hingham, Marshfield, Plymouth, Attleboro, Canton, Stoughton and all smaller cities and rural areas in Southern Massachusetts. We also serve the counties of Plymouth, Norfolk and Bristol, Massachusetts.


Related posts:

Can I refuse to take an alcohol breath test?
Can you refuse to take a breath test in Massachusetts? What are the penalties and consequences for refusing to take a breathalyzer test?
Massachusetts OUI, DUI, DWI Penalties
Massachusetts General Law Chapter 90 Sections 24 and Section 24D explains Massachusetts OUI penalties. In Massachusetts, the law refers to certa...
9 Step Walk-and-Turn Field Sobriety Tests
A walk-and-turn test is one of three main field sobriety tests Massachusetts law enforcement use as a means to detect or measure any impairments ...
Minor in Possession of Alcohol
If you were arrested with a group of other minors at a drinking party then we may be able to beat the charges. It isn’t enough for the prosecutio...
Misdemeanor & Felony Motor Vehicle Homicide
The major difference between misdemeanor motor vehicle homicide and felony motor vehicle homicide is that in felony motor vehicle homicide the Co...
Ignition Interlock Device Violation / Rolling Re-Test Violations
An ignition interlock violation committed by someone with a hardship license will result in a revoked hardship license for the balance of the rem...
OUI and Negligent Operation
Negligent operation of a motor vehicle is different than operating under the influence. However, it is common for a defendant to be charged with ...
Habitual Traffic Offender Suspension
Anyone that is classified as a habitual traffic offender by the registry of motor vehicles will have their license suspended for four years. Her...