It is a crime to knowingly collide with another car or a person causing personal injury or death and then leave the scene without giving your name, residence and motor vehicle number. You must stop and provide this information even if you did not cause the accident and failure to do so will result in serious penalties. It is not enough to just stop and check on the other parties involved in the accident. Also, the driver must stop even if he believes his identity is known.
In order to prove the offense of leaving the scene of an accident involving personal injury the commonwealth will have to show the following beyond a reasonable doubt:
- The defendant operated of a motor vehicle;
- The defendant did so on a way, or place which the public has a right of access, or any place to where members of the public have access as invitees or licensees;
- While operating a motor vehicle defendant’s vehicle collided or caused injury to another person;
- The defendant knew he collided with or otherwise caused personal injury to another person;
- The defendant did not stop after the accident and give his or her name, address and registration number.
Penalties For Leaving The Scene Of Personal Injury Not Resulting In Death
- Criminal: Imprisonment for a minimum of 6 months but no longer than 2 years and a fine of at least $500 but no ore than $1,000
- Registry: A conviction for leaving the scene of personal injury not resulting in death will result in a suspension of license for one year. A second conviction will result in a revocation for 2 years.
Penalties for Leaving the Scene of Personal Injury Resulting in Death
Criminal: Imprisonment in a state prison for a minimum of 2 ½ years but no longer than 10 years and a fine of at least $1000 but not more than $5,000 or imprisonment in the house of corrections for a minimum of 1 year but no longer than 2 ½ years and a fine of at least $1,000 but not more than $5,000.
Registry: A conviction for leaving the scene of personal injury resulting in death will result in a revocation of license for 3 year. A second conviction will result in a revocation for 10 years.
Charged with Leaving the Scene of an Accident Involving a Personal Injury? Talk With An Experienced Boston Motor Vehicle Offense Attorney For Free
Accidents involving motor vehicles can be terrifying. The trauma involved, especially if you sustained a head injury can lead to confusion and result in making poor decisions. If you know someone was harmed as a result of an accident — even one that may not have been your fault — you may have left the scene in fear, or to find help. Regardless of the circumstances, leaving the scene of a fatal accident is a very serious offense and you need an experience lawyer willing to hear your side and defend you against criminal charges that could land you in prison.
No matter where you are located, we are just a phone call away. Call our Massachusetts Criminal Defense Attorneys at The Law Offices of Gerald J. Noonan to schedule a free no-obligation case review and consultation at (508) 588-0422 and you will have taken your first step to find out how best to confront this important matter. You can also click here to use our Free Case Evaluation Form.
Our knowledgeable and experienced Massachusetts motor vehicle and driving violations defense attorneys are available to assist clients throughout all of Massachusetts, including, but not limited to Plymouth County including Brockton, Abington, Bridgewater, Whitman, Hanson, Hingham, Wareham, Halifax, Middleborough, Rockland, Lakeville, Holbrook, Avon, Kingston, Pembroke, Plympton, Pembroke, Hanover, Carver, Duxbury, Marshfield, Norwell, Hanover, Scituate, East/West Bridgewater, Rochester, Marion, Mattapoisett; Norfolk County including Quincy, Stoughton, Dedham, Weymouth, Braintree, Randolph, Canton, Sharon; Bristol County including New Bedford, Fall River, Taunton, Wrentham, Attleboro, Mansfield, Easton, Raynham, Norton; Cape Cod, Barnstable, Falmouth, Hyannis.